5. Documents from Regional and Other Organizations/Regions

At a most basic level, regional organizations play an important role in providing states with a forum for consultation on political and security issues in a regional or other context.

5.1 Association of Southeast Asian Nations

As part of its commitment to promote regional peace and stability the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) established the ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF) in 1994. ARF currently has 27 participants. The ARF agenda consists of two broad objectives: first, to foster constructive dialogue and consultation on political and security issues of common interest and concern and, second, to contribute to efforts towards confidence building and preventive diplomacy in the Asia-Pacific region. This agenda aims to evolve in three broad stages, namely the promotion of confidence building, development of preventive diplomacy and elaboration of approaches to conflicts and, as part of that, the ARF countries agreed a non-proliferation statement in 2004, (reproduced in the 2008 edition of the *Resource Guide*). This edition of the *Resource Guide* contains relevant extracts from the most recent report from an ARF meeting on non-proliferation of weapons of mass destruction.

5.2 European Union

Established in 1957 by the Treaty of Rome and developed through subsequent treaties, the European Union (EU) currently has 27 Member States. The EU has long had an interest in arms control, disarmament and non-proliferation, especially since the adoption of its Common Foreign and Security Policy in the early 1990s through which, its involvement became much more intensive and pro-active. In 1999, a Council Joint Action established a EU cooperation programme for non-proliferation and disarmament in Russia, including financial assistance for destruction of chemical weapons. In 2003, the EU adopted its 'Strategy against Proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction', commonly known as the WMD Strategy.

Since 2003, the EU has focused on more concrete activities, including through, *inter alia*, the adoption of successive decisions to provide support for OPCW activities within the framework of the implementation of the WMD Strategy and a decision outlining a common approach to the 2013 CWC Review Conference. This section of the *Resource Guide* includes the most recent relevant Council Decisions.

5.3 Non-Aligned Movement

The first conference of Non-Aligned Heads of State was held in Belgrade in September 1961. The Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) currently has 119 Member States. Summit meetings of NAM Heads of State are held approximately every three years and there have been sixteen to date, with the most recent being held in Tehran, Islamic Republic of Iran, during 26-31 August 2012. After each summit, the host country becomes convenor of the NAM until the next summit meeting, so Iran will be the holder of this position for the Third CWC Review Conference. This section of the *Resource Guide* contains an extract from the Final Document of the 16th Summit of Heads of State or Government of the Non-Aligned Movement in 2012.

5.4 Other groupings

The **African Union**, established by the issuing of the Sirte Declaration in 1999 and the Constitutive Act of the African Union in 2000, is a successor to the amalgamated African Economic Community and the Organization of African Unity. The AU has 54 member states, including all African states except Morocco. In 2002, the African Union adopted a decision on the implementation and universality of the CWC, which was included in the 2008 edition

of the *Resource Guide*. In January 2006, OPCW Director-General Rogelio Pfirter and the Chairperson of the African Union Commission, Alpha Oumar Konaré, signed a memorandum of understanding focused on the universality of the Convention in Africa, effective national implementation of its provisions, and increased participation by African Member States in the OPCW's international cooperation programmes (the MoU is annexed to OPCW document S/547/2006).

Latin America has seen a number of CWC-relevant political activities. In September 1991 in Mendoza, Argentina, the governments of Argentina, Brazil and Chile jointly signed the Declaration of Mendoza which committed the three countries not to 'develop, produce or acquire in any way, stockpile or retain, transfer directly or indirectly, and not to use chemical or biological arms'. The Declaration was agreed in the context of the negotiation of the CWC and is primarily concerned with supporting the negotiation but, in its preambular determination to 'consolidate the region as an area of peace and cooperation, free from the scourge of these weapons of mass destruction', it can be seen as a precursor of later declarations by the OAS. The Declaration was subsequently also signed by Bolivia, Ecuador, Paraguay and Uruguay. In December 1991, the leaders of the Andean Group countries (Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and Venezuela) signed a Declaration on Renunciation of Weapons of Mass Destruction in Cartagena des Indias. The declaration obliged its signatories not to produce, develop, use, test and transfer weapons of mass destruction, whether nuclear, biological, toxin or chemical weapons, and to refrain from storing, acquiring or holding such weapons. Regarding the CWC specifically, the Declaration states the signatories support for the ongoing CWC negotiations and their intention to become original States Parties to the Convention. Like the Mendoza Declaration, the Cartagena Declaration states the goal of 'the transformation of Latin America and the Caribbean into the first inhabited area of the planet which is free of weapons of mass destruction'. Both declarations were included in the 2008 edition of the Resource Guide.

The **Organization of American States** (OAS) brings together 35 independent countries (however, while Cuba remains a member of the OAS, its government has been excluded from participation since 1962) to strengthen cooperation and advance common interests in the Western Hemisphere. At the Second Summit of the Americas, held in Santiago, Chile, in 1998 the Heads of State and Government decided to promote regional dialogue taking into account the new post Cold War political, economic, social, and strategic-military factors with a view to revitalizing and strengthening the institutions of the Inter-American system. One result of this regional dialogue was momentum to make the region a chemical and biological weapons-free zone, building on earlier commitments in the Mendoza and Cartagena Declarations of 1991. In October 2003, a Special Conference in Mexico City adopted the 'Declaration on Security in the Americas' which represented a new approach to hemispheric security taking into account the impact of globalization and other changes in the region. The Declaration reaffirmed their commitment to preventing the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction by resolutely supporting the OPCW. It additionally declared as an objective of the OAS making the Americas a region free of chemical and biological weapons. This latter objective was put into effect by a resolution of the 34th OAS General Assembly in Quito in 2004 in which OAS Member States resolved to 'concretely fulfil the shared commitment of member states to make the Americas a region free of biological and chemical weapons'. A copy of the resolution was included in the 2008 edition of the Resource Guide.